Eye On Springfield with Paul Ravenwood

eye on springfield

I’ve written about Paul’s work on Xtapolapometal before. He’s the mastermind behind the black metal project Twilight Fauna. He also releases some incredible neo-folk albums with his project Green Elder. With Twilight Fauna, Paul creates harsh black metal with walls of guitar and very minimal drums, sort of a Sunn O)))  version of black metal. He also infuses his work with plenty of Appalachian influences. Counteracting all of the harshness of Twilight Fauna, Green Elder is a lot more introspective and laid back, reminiscent of sitting around a campfire while someone plays an old acoustic guitar. All of his work is pretty original and passionate. Paul is also an amazing guy and I’m truly honored to have him answer some nerdy Simpsons questions for me.

What is your history with The Simpsons? Do you remember the first time you saw the show?

The Simpsons have been on for as long as I can remember so it’s sort of always been there. The first episode that I really remember sticking with me is the Christmas episode where they get Santa’s Little Helper. I think that might be the series premiere actually. For whatever reason, someone in my family taped that episode so I had an old VHS copy that I would watch pretty often as a kid.

Who is your favorite character?
Probably Moe. He seems like a cool old guy whose seen some things in his life. I would definitely like for him to serve me a beer and listen to his stories.
Do you have a favorite episode(s)?
Either the first Christmas episode or Itchy and Scratchy Land. I’ve got a soft spot for small violent animals.
The Simpsons has a wide array of guest stars. Do you have a favorite?
The recent episode with Rob Halford. Judas Priest has been my favorite band since I was about 10 years old. I love anything Priest related.
Who from the world of metal would you love to see guest on the show?
Definitely Fenriz. He seems like a hilarious human being so I think he would fit well into the Simpson’s universe.
What character would you be most excited to find out was a fan of your work?
Probably Lisa just because I know she has an appreciation for music. Or maybe Otto, it’s cool to think of him listening to Twilight Fauna while driving the school bus.
Do you have a favorite musical number from The Simpsons? Also, what band would you love to see cover said song?
I love Lisa’s union strike song. When I first heard it, I immediately thought of the Dropkick Murphys. It sounds just like a Murphys’ song. It seems like natural fit for them to cover it.
I’ve always thought Lisa Simpson would be the one character to end up getting into punk or metal. Who do you think will grow up and discover metal or punk?
That would have to be Milhouse. I can imagine him holing up in his room and blasting some metal to let go of his frustrations. He’s a loner that gets bullied, Milhouse is definitely a secret black metal fan.
Do you still watch new episodes of the show? If not, do you remember what made you stop watching?
I usually watch them as part of the block of animated shows that come on Sunday nights. Although, admittedly I lean more toward Bob’s Burgers these days. I kinda wish they would end it just to preserve how amazing the show has been for so many years. The worst thing would be for it to start going downhill.
How would you like to see the series end? Any ideas on where you would like to see the family end up?
That’s a tough question. I would ultimately like to see a happy ending but I don’t want a final episode where it shows the kids grown up or anything like that. I would much rather them be remembered as the snapshot in time of the way the family’s always been.
ravenwood

Paul recently had his latest Twilight Fauna full length, Shadows Of Ancestors, finally get a physical release. You can go HERE to pick it up on CD and HERE for cassettes. He also has a stunning split 7 inch with Jennifer Christensen up for pre-order on the Twilight Fauna Bandcamp page (link at the bottom). I reviewed it on here a couple weeks ago. You can read that HERE, then go pick it up. It’s excellent.

Follow Paul at the following:
Twilight Fauna Bandcamp
Green Elder Bandcamp
Twilight Fauna Twitter
Twilight Fauna Facebook

Leave a Reply

