Eye On Springfield with Joe Deermieer

eye on springfield

Joe Deermieer is one of my favorite noise artists, particularly his project Hoggle. Creating harsh noise walls inspired by the movie Labryinth, Hoggle is memorizing and intense. Joe also has a pretty amazing project called Heavy Metal Vomit Party, which focuses on old heavy metal albums run through a series of chains to completely destroy the source material. I highly suggest checking out both of these if you are into cool, weird noise projects.

Joe has numerous other projects that are all worth checking out that I will list at the end of the interview. Joe rules and all my thanks to him for doing this interview.

 

What is your history with The Simpsons? Do you remember the first time you saw the show?
Growing up, I loved the show.  I can’t remember the first time i saw it, however, i do remember that it was on Thursdays when I was like 6 years old, and I was displeased that I missed it frequently because my mom taught aerobics at the YMCA, so I was usually stuck there instead of in front of the TV.

Who is your favorite character?
This is a hard one as there are so many great characters that are the best in their own right.  If I had to choose just one though, it would be Lenny and Carl.  Yes, I know that is two characters, but you rarely see one without the other.

Do you have a favorite episode(s)?
The one in which George Bush moves in on Evergreen Terrace is pretty awesome.  Also, damn near every Treehouse of Horror is amazing.

The Simpsons has had a wide array of guest stars. Do you have a favorite?
The Ramones were on an episode, weren’t they?  That’s my favorite.  I also love when Tom Petty’s toe is cut off and lost in the Rock n Roll Camp episode, but that’s because i hate Tom Petty.

Who from the world of noise or metal would you love to see guest on the show?
Vicente aka Weon Culiao aka Bucket of Piss or Johnathon Cash aka Breakdancing Ronald Reagan would make for an interesting episode.

Do you have a favorite musical number from the Simpsons? Also, what noise artists would you like to see interrupt said song?
There are probably plenty of other awesome songs I am forgetting, but “See My Vest” was great.  It would be funny to see Vomir interrupting the song just standing there w/ his bag on his head. Norse Shit Band would be a great interrupter as well.

Is there a character from the show that you think could ever become a noise fan?
I think Moe Syzlak could find HNW appealing.  Comic Book Guy might like the harsh as well.

What character would you be excited to find out was a fan of your work?
Sideshow Bob.

I know you haven’t watch the Simpsons in a while. Do you remember what made you stop watching?
I’m not entirely sure.  I do remember that towards the end of college (~2004-5), I wasn’t finding the writing as funny anymore. I occasionally put it on if I remember and am able to on Sunday, but really, I don’t see it syndicated like it used to be.  I watched it more when Fox still put reruns on.

What would be your dream ending for the family and the series?
Gee, that’s a hard one to fathom.  Realistically, Homer would make some huge mistake while working at the nuclear plant and vaporize the entire town, thus ending the family and the series.

JD

To check out all of Joe’s work, just search for Planet Shithead, Pig Shrapnel, Extreme Chafing, Hoggle, Heavy Metal Vomit Party, Laboratory Fire, Dungeon Attire, Hair On My Food Tapes & Records, Serious Business CDr, and Busey Teeth CDr on Facebook. If you’re into noise, you’ll find a bunch of cool stuff. 

You can also stream some of Joe’s work on Bandcamp at:
Planet Shithead
Serious Business CDr
Hair On My Food Tapes

Leave a Reply

