Eye On Springfield with Jared Stimpfl from Secret Cutter

eye on springfield

Secret Cutter are a band that came out of nowhere for me. I randomly added them to my wishlist on Bandcamp and was very quickly gifted their album through the #MetalBandcampGiftClub. Their doomy grind/hardcore immediately caught my attention and proceeded to bludgeon me over the head repeatedly. I was immediately hooked and have listened to Self-Titled at least once a day since. The three piece create an incredibly heavy sound through just drums/guitar/vocals. There is no bass and you don’t miss it. In fact, I didn’t even notice until I started looking into Secret Cutter’s background that they didn’t have a bass player.

Drummer Jared Stimpfl was kind enough to nerd out on The Simpsons for me and I can’t thank him enough.

 

What is your history with The Simpsons? Do you remember the first time you saw the show?

I can’t even remember the first time I watched the Simpsons…But I was always excited for prime time TV Sunday nights for a new episode when I was a kid.

Who is your favorite character?

I love Troy McClure because he is always a part of something ridiculous. And Ned Flanders because he was super wholesome and you kinda hated him for it…until he ‘kills’ his wife!

Do you have a favorite episode(s)?

I love the Japan episode where the family travels there but has to go on a game show to win tickets back home…there was a moment when Homer loses his ticket and yells out in Japanese in a really long and angry way…and the caption of course was “D’oh!” So many good lines in that episode….FISH BULB.

homer japan

The Simpsons has had a wide array of guest stars. Do you have a favorite?

Not really sure!

Who from the world of metal would you love to see guest on the show?

Well he was already on so…JONATHAN DAVIS OF KORN!

What character would you be most excited to find out was a fan of Secret Cutter?

Otto Mann because he’s always rockin something right? He should be driving the bus full of children to “Self Titled” for sure.

Do you have a favorite musical number from the show? Also, what band would you love to see cover said song?

When Bart switches out the church Hym for “In A Gadda Da Vida” by Iron Butterfly was always my favorite. And I would only want to see them do it. OR Bongzilla.

iron

I’ve always thought that Lisa Simpson would be the one character to eventually discover metal or punk. What character do you think will be a metal head?

Millhouse for sure. He reminded me of me as a kid…just awkward. Then I found metal. And i’m still Awkward.
Do you still watch the new episodes of the show? If not, do you remember why you stopped watching?

I don’t unfortunately…I remember when family guy rebooted I started watching that more and then eventually ditched cable.

Finally, how would you like to see the series end? Any ideas on where you would like to see the family end up?

That’s a tough one…Possibly Homer obliterating Springfield from job negligence and everyone dies a slow painful toxic death while ‘Aftermath” from Origin paints the landscapes behind their screams. That would be pretty cool.

 

sc

Follow Secret Cutter at:
Secret Cutter Bandcamp
Secret Cutter Facebook
Secret Cutter Twitter

Leave a Reply

